Sculpture Adventure in Washington – May/June 2013

It’s been a while since I last posted photos of my sculptures. Well, I haven’t been sitting on my hands, actually I’ve been quite busy, making some sculptures in Corten Steel while visiting Bill Wentworth, Sterling Designs in Poulsbo, WA. Bill and I worked on my Wholeness sculpture pictured below and got my YinYang Block started. I got to finish it once returning to CA. (See image in next posting)

Bill lives near my studio and I’ve needed to get up to WA and clean out some of my stone collection. After 20 years of collecting stones for sculpting and having moved to southern CA, I needed to lighten my load and share some of these gems with fellow stone sculptors. So Rick, Sharon, Chuck, and Steve came out and drove away with 5 or 6 tons. That helped me pay for my travels and lighten my load at the same time. I also received a half scholarship to the Pilchuck Glass School for a short program with Richard Whiteley and Scott Chaseling. These two Ausies are great in their field, Richard a master at glass casting, and Scott a master at blown glass. They called their class Fractures, and given the minimal time we had to complete three casting/blown/cold worked glass sculptures, their namesake was appropriate. I was fortunate to not have any of my glass pieces fracture, but some did. This was not for the weak of spirit, this class took passion and long days and nights, prepping our ideas to begin each day until we could get work into the kilns for annealing or getting them cold worked and ready for the next steps needed. I again felt like one of the elder students on campus, so I pushed myself to finish my projects ahead of the curve. This was my strategy for not falling behind and putting more stress on the work than I would be OK with. So I put the pedal down and got my three projects done in the 8 days we had to work.

After Pilchuck I returned to Bainbridge Island and completed my projects, rented a Uhaul trailer and headed back home to Ojai. I had a safe journey and next installment I’ll show you the sculptures I finished since returning to Ojai.

 

Click on any photo to see it in a larger format. Please don’t hesitate to ask questions or leave comments below. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

