Finding My Way to Paris

So today, I am off to Paris and after printing out my boarding pass ahead of time for the 6am arrival at the airport, Kai walked me to the gate and I went in clearing my two bags without a problem. I sat waiting the half hour for them to begin boarding. I sat and took a couple of photos to prove that my big adventure was unfolding as it should. Little did I realize that I was waiting in the wrong gate, as this was airFrance and not airBerlin. I was told once I got to board.

Air France not Air Berlin

Air France not Air Berlin

I had to find my way out of the gate, out of the terminal and find another building which was about 1/2 hour walk. I had 20 minutes and when I cleared my bags again, and raced to the gate, I was the last passenger to arrive. My bags had no place above and so I had trouble getting them under the seat. Fortunately, I was in an isle seat and found a way to get my bags under the seat in the middle as no one was taking this seat. I sat in a big sweat, but relieved that I had made it.

Tight fit

Tight fit

Now I am on my way to Paris and I will arrive in a different airport than Lisa. We both have directions to the apartment and will arrive just before noon time. I hope it goes smoothly as I haven’t yet practiced my French lessons. I will pause here as the attendant is here with my morning beverage and a snack.

Back to the creative process. I took some photos in Berlin on the Robot machine in Kai Draeger’s studio. It is controlled by a computer and can cut stones or other materials as well. Kai and I discussed the using of Rino software to design forms for sculpture. He showed me some models that he has produced by a company in Germany that can make my designs in a printing process using wax. This wax model, can be further carved by hand, then taken to the mold process for glass casting or bronze casting. He also showed me how they can also make the models in a sand casting for making forms in cast iron or I can imagine pouring hot glass over this sand form, or into this sand mold.

The Berlin Robot

The Berlin Robot

I would need some time in this experimentation of using the newest technology to create my contemporary designs. I am excited about this new direction as well as what I learned in the glass studio in the Czech Republic. Kai took me to a parcel of land that he is negotiating with a church to see if they will give him permission to live. If so there will be much space to have a studio and even a house, if Lisa and I want to stay in Berlin for a part of the year. We will see what unfolds, as I am in an exploration of being an international artist with a studio in Berlin, Paris, Prague, and …….  Suquamish!  All from my humble roots, I grow now into this new view on life and what is unfolding and revealing.

This is the proposed new property

This is the proposed new property

Happy to have arrived in Paris airport

Happy to have arrived in Paris airport

If you remember to slay the inner dragon/demons the dreams can unfold into beautiful butterflies. This is the possibility that I feel now, like our president elect- Obama, YES WE CAN! I believe that we are here to realize our dreams and to grow into our greatness, our potential realized. This comes from the base of support that I feel from you, my base of support, my friends and family. I feel the inspiration in my art to express our most essential nature. The essence of ourselves.  This comes not from my mind but from my heart and soul.

Some of the first sculptural forms to greet my eyes

Some of the first sculptural forms to greet my eyes

After many attempts to find the apartment, I finally find the right street and make my way up into the studio apartment rented to Lisa and I by Michele Van Slyke of Bainbridge Island. So much appreciate this as it feels like a home away from home with touches of Michele’s artwork everywhere I look. I get to the apartment an hour ahead of Lisa, and make some tea and get myself ready for the big night ahead of me setting up the exhibition. I think!

So now Lisa is resting and I am working on the blog. There is DSL in the apartment so I’m good to go.

Lisa's overnight flight = Need for nap

Lisa's overnight flight = Need for nap

Explore posts in the same categories: Art for Peace, Sculpture, Uncategorized

One Comment on “Finding My Way to Paris”

  1. sheryl miick Says:

    Hi Brian,

    It was such a pleasure to meet you and Lisa in Paris! I was checking out your blog and admiring the photos. Would it be possible to have some of them emailed to me? You have some really great shots that I wish I had from the exhibit to the photos of the entry, the Louvre at night, the airport, etc. I’d really appreciate it. Hope you are home safe and resting well.

    Take care,

    Sheryl


Leave a Reply

